Jeanette-
Background: It was on Valentine's Day of this year that Kyle asked me to be his girlfriend. That night it wasn't too cold, so we went to the Chocolate Cafe downtown South Bend, got hot chocolate, then went walking down by the river. There was a place we stopped where there is a dam or something so the water flows like a waterfall and the city lights are on the other side of the river--we stopped there for awhile.
SO, Earlier last week, Kyle told me he had a surprise for me once it got colder. He wasn't like, THIS IS A MAJOR SURPRISE or anything, just some little thing. I was like, okay. First, it was supposed to be Wednesday (Oct. 5), but the day arrived and it was like 85 degrees, so when he said it wasn't cold enough, I bought it. He said we'd do it over the weekend.
Thursday I had a really good day at school, which isn't normal if any of you have talked to me lately. I was on a good high when I came home. Kyle came home frome work and was like, "Let's do the surprise tonight instead of church." I was like, okay--the whole ring thing crossed my mind, but he was too calm, so I dismissed it. Plus, he was all about eating leftover spaghetti before the surprise, and that's not romantic, is it?
So after dinner it gets a little dark and he says it's time to go. We get in his jeep and we're driving...driving...into South Bend, and he pulls into the Chocolate Cafe. I was like, "Hey! I haven't been here since Valentine's Day!" and we talked about that a little bit. Again, I thought this might be it, but he was so dang CALM! Usually when he has some big surprise he is shaking and giddy and all crazy excited. I even watched his hand when he reached out to pay for our hot chocolate--no shakes.
We left and drove down to the river. Could this be it? I didn't know. Maybe he was just being sweet and romantic...We stopped at the spot by the "waterfall" and talked and...other things...and then he said, "There's something I want to talk to you about." Didn't sound very happy about it. He proceeded to say he knew I hadn't wanted him to propose without a ring, but in light of my finding my dress and all the preparations being underway, he felt he needed to. "Would that be all right?"
No ring? Oh, inside I just sort of deflated. But it made sense--earlier that week I'd met with my car insurance agent and asked about adding Kyle once we were married, and he had looked at my hand instinctively--no ring. When I had gone dress shopping the ladies all looked--no ring. And I had told Kyle this. So, I thought, he's only thinking of me. At least I can say a date when we got engaged.
"Yes, go ahead," I said.He took my hands, and started, "Jeanette, I--no. Jeanette, would you--" "Come on," I said, kind of laughing. What did he think I was going to say, "no"? He shook his head. "This just isn't right." Lo and behold, he pulls a box out of his coat, and opens it to reveal a very lovely diamond ring. "That's better. Jeanette, would you marry me?"
The rest you can imagine, but there was a lot of hugging, laughing and kissing and a lot of "Yes, yes, yes!" coming from me. :)
Hope that wasn't too long. Thanks for all your good wishes everyone!